Connection Locking is a feature available for Red high-security Controllers, using an ethernet connection, that allows an Integrator to 'Lock' a Controller to a specific connection. This feature provides an authenticated connection between the Controller and Cloud Node, which is the highest level of security available. Once a Controller is 'Locked', the Controller can not be added to another Cloud Node or removed and used on another Cloud Node unless the Controller is 'Unlocked' or the Controller is reset. If the Cloud Node is replaced and a backup restored to the new Cloud Node, the 'Lock' between the Controller and the new Cloud Node is transferred also.
Also for sites where multiple Cloud Nodes have or will be installed, locking a Controller to the Cloud Node helps the Integrator by preventing the Controller(s) from being accidentally transferred to a different Cloud Node during installation.
When a Connection for a Red-series Controller is added to a Cloud Node, it is 'unlocked' and the button below will be shown in the Connection details.
Clicking this button will open a sub-window which gives additional information regarding 'Locking' the Connection.
If a Connection for a Red-series Controller has been locked, the button below will be shown in the Connection details.
Clicking this button will open a sub-window which gives additional information regarding 'Unlocking' the Connection.